Henry Charles Smith


Henry Charles Smith

Henry Charles Smith won the Grammy with the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble for “Album of the Year, Classical” in 1969. While associate and resident conductor of the Minnesota Orchestra, he conducted over 1000 concerts. As principal trombonist with the Philadelphia Orchestra, he played over 2000 concerts with Eugene Ormandy and many other of the 20th century’s greatest conductors. As trombone and euphonium soloist, as chamber music player, and as writer and editor, his recordings and editions are internationally known. His guest conducting includes the Detroit, Dallas, Kansas City and National Symphony Orchestras, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, the Indianapolis, San Antonio, Delaware, Oregon, North Carolina and Phoenix Symphonies. He has conducted the Calgary Philharmonic and Edmunton Symphony in Canada.

Mr. Smith has served on the faculties of the Curtis Institute of Music, Indiana University, Temple University and the University of Texas at Austin. From 1989 till 1993 he was Director of Orchestral Activities at Arizona State University. He is now professor emeritus at ASU. He was music director of the South Dakota Symphony for 12 years and is now conductor emeritus. Smith was conductor of the Mendelssohn Club Choir of Philadelphia and the Bach Society Chorus of Minnesota for six years each.

Henry Charles Smith is a frequent conductor of All-State and other educational festivals. He conducted the Young Artist Orchestra at Tanglewood for two summers and was music director of the World Youth Symphony Orchestra at Interlochen for 16 years. He recently served for 2 years as interim music director and artistic advisor of the Cedar Rapids Symphony in Iowa.

Henry Smith was born in Philadelphia and is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and the Curtis Institute of Music. In May 2007 he was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Music by Augustana College in Sioux Falls, SD. He presently lives with his wife Norma Jean in Roseville, MN.

For many summers Mr. Smith joined Dr. William Jones and Dr. Marvin Rabin as faculty members of the American Conductors Workshop in Iowa City, Iowa.